Elementary homeschool science is absolutely so fun. The post today talks all about rocks.

Rocks are constantly being formed, worn down and then formed again, kind of think of it as recycling. I guess you could say the Earth was practicing being “green” long before it became fashionable! The change rock goes through is called the rock cycle and it occurs over millions of years.

Rocks are divided into 3 Types. They are classified by how they were formed.

  • Igneous
  • Sedimentary
  • Metamorphic

Igneous means made from fire or heat, so an Igneous rock is formed from magma which has reached the earth’s surface and cooled. There are five kinds of igneous rocks. Sedimentary rocks are formed from sediments such as sand, silt, and clay. Metamorphic rock is created when other types of rocks are transformed due to great pressure and heat within the earth.

The next time you find a rock, try to decide what kind of rock it is and how it was formed.

Tagged on:             

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>